Oregon One-Acts Hit the Stage at UCC

oregon one acts cover picture

High school short play competition brings Douglas County youth together to celebrate theater.

ROSEBURG, Oregon – The Fine and Performing Arts Department at Umpqua Community College (UCC) presents the Oregon One-Acts. The event is open to the public and plays Saturday, April 14, at 1 p.m. in Centerstage Theatre of the Whipple Fine Arts Building on UCC’s main campus. 

This year, the event is featuring one-act entries from Roseburg High (two plays), South Umpqua High, and Sutherlin High.  Each of the short plays are presented to a panel of judges, who provide feedback to the schools after the event.

The Oregon One-Acts are free, though donations are welcome. Friends and families of participants, the general public, and youth who are interested in the drama programs at Douglas County’s high schools are all encouraged to attend.

Two scholarships may be awarded to promising seniors who will attend UCC’s Theatre Arts program in the Fall term. The UCC Drama Club members help to host the event and learn about producing. This is the fourth year of the annual event.

About Umpqua Community College

Nestled in the beautiful North Umpqua River Valley, Umpqua Community College is the regional center for higher education in Douglas County, Oregon. UCC provides high quality college degree programs, workforce development, and community learning opportunities.


Christina Allaback - Contact
Director of Theatre Arts
Phone: 541-440-4694

News, Theatre, Fun, Programs

Jobs@UCC | A-Z Index | Maps & Parking | Campus Directory | Site Search | Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Employee Website (The Nest) | Hawk Squawk eNewsletter | Alumni Membership | Complaints & Concerns | COVID-19 Information

© 2022 Umpqua Community College, 1140 Umpqua College Rd., Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone: 541-440-4600 | Toll Free: 800-820-5161 | Oregon Relay TTY: 711

UCC Non-Discrimination Statement.
UCC is an equal opportunity employer and educator. 
Umpqua Community College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.